Philippines Extends Travel Ban To Countries To Halt Spread Of New Covid Variants

Main picture credit L. on flickr

The Philippine government has announced that is extending travel restrictions until 31st January for 32 countries where the B117 variant of COVID-19 has been reported.

The restrictions were due to end today but have been extended for a further two weeks and comes just two days after the first case of the new variant was reported in the country. The person had arrived from the United Arab Emirates which, strangely, is not on list of countries. The list of restricted countries has been expanded from the 19 countries in the original restrictions.

The restrictions mean that foreign nationals coming from the countries will not be allowed to enter the Philippines. Filipinos will be allowed to enter but must enter a strict 14-day quarantine.

The Philippines has so far recorded 496,646 cases of Covid-19, including 2,048 in the last 24 hours, and 9,876 deaths, 137 in the last 24 hours.

Restricted Countries

  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • China
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Hong Kong
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Luxembourg
  • The Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Portugal
  • Singapore
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

Advertising and affiliate links help to support this site. We never tailor content to encourage sales with a particular company. We only partner with organisations who we believe provide a good service or product. Thank you.

Published by flyingdogtravel

Travel inspiration

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: