Landmark Flight Agreement Between EU and ASEAN Countries

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) and the European Union (EU) have agreed a deal that will allow airlines of member countries to fly up to 14 weekly passenger services and unlimited cargo flights between and beyond member countries.

The deal was designed to help to rebuild air connectivity between the regions following the pandemic and to create new opportunities.

The agreement also puts into place a foundation for closer cooperation over aviation safety, air traffic management, consumer protection, and environmental and social matters.

The agreement may lead to increased choice and competition on lucrative tourist routes to and from both regions as well as improving trade links.

It may take some time however for consumers to see significant changes to flight options compared to before the pandemic.

The majority of airlines through the world have suffered sever economic issues during the pandemic, have reduced their fleet sizes and consolidated plans for the future to focus on key areas of their business.

How quickly they will be able, and just as importantly willing, to risk new routes remains to be seen.

ASEAN Member States are:

  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • Indonesia
  • Laos
  • Malaysia
  • Myanmar
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam

European Union Members are:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden

Advertising and affiliate links help to support this site. We only partner with organisations who we believe provide a good service or product. Thank you.

Published by flyingdogtravel

Travel inspiration

One thought on “Landmark Flight Agreement Between EU and ASEAN Countries

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: